Bagels and Mixing Woes

Well I have been continuing my journey through The Bread Baker’s Apprentice cookbook, and yesterday began to make the third recipe in the book: Bagels.

Beautiful Bagels!

Beautiful Bagels!

Now, I’ve not specifically made bagel dough before (I have made bagels out of a regular dough though). And I had a few….challenges. Bagel dough is apparently one of the stiffest doughs out there (I did not know this prior to reading it in this book).

a) my son was fussy and awake during the mixing portion of this process

b) the dough was so stiff, that I fear I might have burned out my beloved, professional series Kitchen Aid mixer *sniff*

c) as a result, I had to finish kneading by hand, and my dough might have been a bit under mixed, as it had a tendency to tear as I kneaded it and shaped it into balls

d) I had an unintended additional resting period for my dough because of smoke emerging from my mixer… and I was getting frustrated, so I took my son and we played with the dog instead

e) then, to top it off, my oven this morning decided not to preheat properly for the final two bagels to bake.

However, despite all the above challenges, I was able to finish shaping the bagels yesterday afternoon, and boiled and baked them this morning.

This recipe called for boiling the bagels for 1-2 minutes each side in a water bath with a tablespoon of baking soda added.

This recipe called for boiling the bagels for 1-2 minutes each side in a water bath with a tablespoon of baking soda added.

To my surprise, the bagels actually turned out well. Very well. I may or may not have eaten four of them yesterday. I will neither confirm nor deny that.

And I may or may not have eaten two of them today.

But overall, it’s been a fun experiment to go through this bread baking book. So far, everything has turned out well, especially after getting new yeast!

Great plain or with classic cream cheese.

Great plain or with classic cream cheese.

4 thoughts on “Bagels and Mixing Woes

    1. Kelsie Engen Post author

      Thanks! I have to say, we powered through these bagels too quickly to freeze them, but I’ll be making them again for sure–perhaps a double batch and freeze half. 🙂 I think the Kitchen Aid has made it out alive, but time will tell!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

