Sleepless Nights, Yet No Aurora

One of the nice things about sleepless nights in a Fairbanks’ winter is that you can often look up to the sky and find the Aurora Borealis dancing its way to the earth.

Well, I was up all night last night, and nothing was visible. *Sigh* A sick baby who had to sit upright or else wouldn’t sleep was my “excuse” for not sleeping last night. Trust me, I wanted to sleep. Even more so since the Aurora was not visible. Not one little bit. Granted, I had a great view of the city of Fairbanks (no pictures, because I was holding a fussy baby).

It’s been one of those days where I simply want to throw in the towel. I’m not quite as exhausted as I could be since the baby slept until a quarter to five the night before last and I was able to catch up on a little bit of sleep, but the day after a night with maybe four hours’ sleep still has its challenges.

Ambitiously, I started my own Sourdough Starter this past week. That’s right, no added yeast or anything. I followed the King Arthur’s blog instructions, and my starter seemed to be alive and raring to go. So, naturally, I wished to bake some bread to accompany dinner tonight. Since my recipe required an overnight (8-12 hour) proof, I started it last night, deciding to use up all my extra Starter and make a double recipe.

Should I mention now that I’ve had rotten luck working with sourdough in the past?

Just for kicks, in case someone needs a laugh, here’s a picture of my best loaf.

IMG_0346.JPG
This looks like a huge cookie!!!

I have to laugh looking at that. Bread? Artisan? Certainly not me!

The whole day was like this. So now as I head off to bed, I’m praying for a night of rest tonight–for all of us–and speedy cold fighting for my baby.

One thought on “Sleepless Nights, Yet No Aurora

  1. Pingback: Sourdough Starter | Denali In My Backyard

Leave a Reply

