Snow & Denial

No, that’s not a typo. Although I never realized before now how close “Denali” is to “denial.” What I’m currently living in denial about is the snowflakes that fell earlier today.

All in all, September 21st isn’t an early winter for Fairbanks. It’s semi-decent, perhaps average. There was a definite chill in the air when I drove back from my parents’ house with our three cats (who have been enduring a prolonged stay at their house during our moving process). I watched the car thermometer drop to the high thirties, and smelled that chill of impending doom

I mean winter.

Supposedly tomorrow will be warm, far above freezing, but it is the fact of snowflakes which causes me distress. We haven’t had a frost yet up here, so the lingonberries aren’t ripe to pick yet! That means no cranberry cream cheese bread this year!😱 (I know what my son & I will be doing tomorrow…provided it doesn’t snow tonight…)

Regardless, time marches on here. The nights arrive sooner, the temperatures drop, and the snow will soon fall, this time for good. It’s a bittersweet time of year for me. And perhaps time to invest in a full-spectrum lamp so I can camp out under it for the next six months.

Here’s to hoping for no snow until at least October!

Leave a Reply

